Announcing Fractale

I am happy to announce Fractale (https://fractale.co), an open-source self-organization platform, with a frontend powered by Elm GitHub - fractal6/fractal6-ui.elm: Frontend for Fractale.

Fractale is part of the “productivity” or “asynchronous communication” tools family. As a developer, I am satisfied with the organization and collaboration tools built around Git, such as Github/Gitlab/Gitea. But for human beings who are not developers or strangers to these tools, they remain too complex and ill adapted. Hence the question: “Can we reach the levels of organization and large-scale collaboration obtained with free and open source software in projects that go beyond simple software development?”

There are of course a multitude of tools that try to answer this question, such as Trello, Asana, Clickup, Basecamp and other open-source initiatives like OpenProject for example. There is always an element of subjectivity in assessing these tools, but so far none of them have satisfied me in practice, and all of them have left me with this feeling of dissatisfaction, especially for organizing open collaborative projects or communities. On the other hand, I had the opportunity to discover tools such as Glassfrog and Holasprit, which are designed for so-called “self-organization” and “shared governance” approaches, based in particular on Holacracy or Sociocracy. I was seduced by these approaches of an “operating system for humans”. However, the user experience remains poor, and these products are sometimes restrictive in terms of the governance model to adopt, and are expensive, in addition to being locked-in by the vendors.

These reasons, plus the desire to have a free, open source, and quality tool (at least that I like to use) for self-organization led me to the development of Fractale. The organization of Fractale takes place on Fractale, providing a practical usecase of the platform: Fractale: Self-Organization for Humans