Help getting started: UI for network optimisation application

I am not a professional dev, let alone a professional UI dev. I do know some programming.

I’ve used the last several weeks of lock-down time to build a logistics network optimization application in Rust. The application can read inputs as CSV files or from a database. It is currently written as a CLI application.

However, as the application becomes more mature, I’d like to make it accessible via a web-UI. I’d like to write this in Elm, as it seems not as overwhelming in terms of getting started for a newcomer (learn a few hard things is preferable to me, hence I chose Rust)

Here is what I seek to achieve with the UI, in sequence of priority.

1. Expose the CSV files and/or tables on the UI (a tabular format would be sufficient), then invoke the Rust application to solve the dataset

2. Add data validations, highlighting incorrect entries and allowing corrections in the UI; perhaps a spreadsheet interface.

3. Interactive and graphical UI to visualize the network.

I’d like to check if there are any “hello world” code bases that have a bare-bones implementation of for item 1 (essentially a database browser).

Additionally, pointers to useful libraries would be appreciated.

many thanks!

Here some thoughts:

1. This sounds like a nice program to start learning Elm. I’m guessing you want a Text input and a submit button, once the button is clicked the content of the text input gets pushed to rust and the result gets displayed. I’d gladly guide you through writing that app.

• I always recommend using mdgriffith/elm-ui instead of elm/html in your first project. It might feel like an overkill at first, but it will definitely help you down the line.