Learning Html for Elm developers

TLDR; Do you have any suggestions on learning HTML when Elm is one’s primary(only?) browser language?

Hi all, I have a weird question.
I have been using Elm for about 1.5 years now and have never felt more productive. Until I started, I could write frontend code but struggled to deal with complex layouts without using helper tools like React/Vue and make heavy use of component frameworks like MaterialUI.
CSS makes sense from afar but becomes unmanageable when I get too close.

Lately as a fullstack developer, I have started seeing the value of having comfort with HTML for certain tasks. For example, email templates probably shouldn’t (probably can’t) be written in Elm and as a Phoenix developer Liveview is also looking extremely interesting.

It seems that for situations where Elm doesn’t make sense, HTML is king. My question therefore is, are there any resources that could be useful for people like me who fear CSS and raw HTML, but already have web design skills?

I use elm-ui if that matters.

1 Like

I’ve been meaning to check out the MJML language to solve the e-mail problem, myself. I think there are some Elixir/Phoenix integrations for it already.

For layouts with regular HTML, I absolutely cannot live without Flexbox. Getting really comfortable with flexbox is how I deal with the overwhelming majority of my layout challenges in HTML (especially now that the gap property is implemented in Chrome, Firefox, and Safari — it works just like spacing in elm-ui), and there are a lot of good explainers on it. I like this one and this one in particular. The games written for practicing with it also seem pretty neat.

I also really like the advice from every-layout.dev for tackling a lot of more complex layout challenges.

1 Like