Mobile app alternative (PWA) via ELM?

Hi I’m new to ELM. I’m not new to software engineering (I’m teaching software engineering to bachelor students and I intend to use Elm / Elixir for 1st time, I also work as a consultant) .
I seek to build a mobile application but not as a native app. I consider building a PWA.

I was thinking of combining elm/elixir/phoenix. I discovered Elixir LifeView as a terrific way to easily add dynamism to the front end. It’s still getting more mature but it looks very promising (although it doesn’t cover offline situations).

I’m surprised to find no discussions whatsoever on combining elm+LiveView. Is the latter seen as competition for elm? Is it too different?

What would be my best approach to building a close-to-mobile solution including offline storage? Using Elm?

Thanks for any help
Greatly appreciated.
Marc

1 Like

Hey Marc! I’d check out Google’s guide to building PWAs, which can be found here!

I dunno how much of the PWA-stuff you already know about, but you can get really far by setting up:

1. a simple development-server, maybe using live-server.
  2. an Elm app, and the HTML-document to embed it in.
  3. some icons.
  4. a manifest.json file to specify the app-stuff. It’s described on the google-site.
  5. a service-worker to handle interception of network-requests, enabling offline storage. Also described on google-site.
  • If you want to test how well your app works, you can connect to it from your phone over the local network, using the localhost portnumber + your computers local address. This is great during development, and works nicely with live-server
  • Use Lighthouse for auditing. It’s built into Chrome’s developer-tools, which ships with all browsers based on Chromium. It has great feedback on how well your app works, also in terms of the PWA stuff. You can run it directly in the browser.