Speak & Spell: my very first Elm attempt. I'd need feedback and suggestions, please

Hi all :slight_smile:

some context:

• What helped you learn Elm?

• This is my very first attempt at Elm (and functional programming in general). I’m doing this to test my understanding of Elm and of my learning with Elm in Action. I haven’t finish the book yet (stopped before the Testing chapters) and I will resume my learning path once this learning project is over.

• See the Read Me file for more information about the app itself.

the code:

the post:

as a beginner, at this specific point of my learning, I believe I’ve reached the most I could achieve with the app logic. Before moving on with the UI, I’d love to hear from Elm community. So that I can have some external feedback and reference. I welcome all comments and criticisms, and I would like to ask for:

• feedback/“code review”
  • how to continue for UI/UX

I’ve really worked hard, with almost no help[1], to make the code/logic the best that I could, going through refactoring and staring/going over at the code for days to then make a small change that seemed like a good improvement. I’d be grateful if you could help me understand the quality of the code, things I could/should have done differently, pointers to articles so that I can learn some more, does the code stinks? (a lot?), did I overdo/overuse something? and so on.

I would also appreciate your suggestions about using elm-css/elm-ui to make a UI that loosely resembles Speak & Spell (a toy in general), where basically everything needs to be custom CSS. I’m in between two minds here (elm-css or elm-ui? vanilla CSS? a CSS framework?!?) and I’ve been searching for pointers and articles on how to use elm-css in my projects to no avail. I’m not asking for a solution, and if you have good pointers/tutorial to get me started that would be awesome.

Please and thank you :pray:

[1] thank you to all whom have answered my questions on Slack :heart:

6 Likes