Will the real Elm-UI please stand up

I’m new to Elm as of this week. I heard Richard talk about how great Elm-UI is, so I searched and found two of them…

Help?

1 Like

You need the first one. The second one is a different project that stopped working as of Elm 0.19 due to some compiler changes, and is no longer supported.

3 Likes

Ok, noted. I plan to dig into Elm-UI today.

BTW - Is there any more context worth knowing? Like, are the projects related? (It’s weird for two separate projects in the same space to have the exact same name.) Or why the admin of https://elm-ui.netlify.app/ hasn’t updated that page to inform visitors of the situation?

2 Likes

No, they are not related. In Elm, descriptive package names are preferred, so if two packages have similar purpose, they might end up with the same name.

I don’t really know why the page hasn’t been updated.

By the way, you might like to check out my showcase of elm-ui examples.

2 Likes

When searching for Elm 0.19 packages you should use https://package.elm-lang.org/ - the second one doesn’t appear there since it’s not compatible with Elm 0.19.

1 Like

Thanks. I’m catching up slowly, but collecting links as I go to add to my queue.

Actually, while I’m here - what’s the best attempt so far at using Elm w/Electron for desktop apps? My first search pass yielded these candidates:

(GitHub)

• johnomarkid/elm-electron-webpack
  • mdgriffith/elm-electron-todomvc (forked from evancz/elm-todomvc)
  • nirgn975/Elmctron
  • passiomatic/elm-designer

Based on name recognition, I’m guessing mdgriffith’s project might be the most promising.

(I guess the next logical question in the series would be about Elm on Android/iPhone, but I’m a long ways from that.)

I find Elm and Elm-ui on PC/Android/iPhone is actually pretty straight forward.
You create a minimal native application with a full screen webView and load the Elm PWA website in it. For minimal bloat, stay away from any framework.